Geopolitical zones in Nigeria

The 6 Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria and Their States

Nigeria has 36 states, 774 local government areas and is divided into six geopolitical zones based on similarity of culture, history and ethnicity.

In this post, I’ll list all the geopolitical zones in Nigeria and the states under them.

The 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria are:

  1. North Central
  2. North East
  3. North West
  4. South East
  5. South South
  6. South West

The Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria and the States Under Them

Geopolitical zones in Nigeria
Source: Twitter, Ministry of Internal Affairs

North Central

There are 6 states as well as the FCT, Abuja in the North Central. They are:

  1. Benue
  2. Kogi
  3. Kwara
  4. Niger
  5. Plateau
  6. Nasarawa
  7. FCT Abuja

The North Central geopolitical zone, also known as the Middle Belt, has the most ethnic diversity in Nigeria. There is the Yoruba ethnic group, the Hausa-Fulani, Nupe, Jukun, Agatu, Tiv and so on.

Some of Nigerian’s brightest people are from the North Central, including Mikel Obi and M.I Abaga from Plateau State; Bishop David Oyedepo and Kunle Afolayan from Kwara State; Darey Art Alade and Sen. Dino Melaye from Kogi State.

North East

The North East is yet another geopolitical zone in Nigeria. It consists of 6 states, namely:

  1. Adamawa
  2. Bauchi
  3. Borno
  4. Gombe
  5. Taraba
  6. Yobe

The North East geopolitical zone is so big it occupies nearly one-third of Nigeria’s total land mass, with agriculture as the major economic drive.

Aisha Buhari and Atiku Abubakar, both from Adamawa State, are some of the notable people from the North East geopolitical zone.

Needless to say, this zone, particularly Borno and some parts of Yobe State, is the most terrorized part of the country.

May God help Nigeria put and end to the Boko Haram insurgency.

RECOMMENDED: Visa-Free Countries for Nigerians and Nigerian Passport Holders

North West

The North West is another of the geopolitical zones in the Northern region. It comprises 7 states, namely:

  1. Jigawa
  2. Kaduna
  3. Kano
  4. Katsina
  5. Kebbi
  6. Sokoto
  7. Zamfara

Predominantly Hausa, the North West is the last zone in the Northern Nigeria on this list of the geopolitical zones of Nigeria. As you’d expect, the commonly spoken language of the North West is Hausa. The North West is of economic importance to Nigeria with industries in textile, footwear, cosmetics, plastics, leather-work, ceramics, furniture and many more.

Former president Umar Musa Yar’adu and President Muhammad Buhari — both from Katsina State — are from this zone.

South East

The South East of the geopolitical zones in Nigeria comprises 5 states and they are:

  1. Abia
  2. Anambra
  3. Ebonyi
  4. Enugu
  5. Imo

The South East is is predominantly Igbo and also predominantly Christian. Some of Nigeria’s greatest people are from the South East, including Chimamanda Adichie, Patoranking, Ruggedman, Tekno, Dora Akunyili, Osita Osadebe and Nnamdi Kanu.

South South

The South South is made up of 6 states, namely:

  1. Akwa Ibom
  2. Bayelsa
  3. Cross River
  4. Delta
  5. Edo
  6. Rivers

This is like the most economically important zone to Nigeria as it is the region where the country gets the over 70% of the nation’s export — OIL. And that’s not to forget that some of Nigeria’s notable people are from this region, such as Former President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, Vincent Enyeama, Timaya, Tonto Dikeh and many more.

South West

And last, but not least in our list of the geopolitical zones in Nigeria is the South West. The South West is made up of 6 states, namely:

  1. Ekiti
  2. Lagos
  3. Ogun
  4. Ondo
  5. Osun
  6. Oyo

The South West is homogeneously Yoruba, and while there are slight dialectical differences, the people of South West predominantly speak the Yoruba language. Lagos, the “Center of Excellence” and Nigeria’s center of commerce is in the South West.

Some of the notable people from the South West region include Former President Olusegun Obasanjo, Femi Falana, Anthony ‘Oluwafemi’ Joshua, Prophet T.B. Joshua, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and many more.

Those are the 6 geopolitical zones of Nigeria and the states under each.

Disclaimer: This list is not arranged in order of preference for any region or zone; rather, it is arranged in alphabetical order.

If you enjoyed this post, please share with other on social media.

Leave a Comment